top of page
  • Writer's picturemovieman

REVIEW: Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2021)

DIRECTOR: Destin Daniel Cretton

PRODUCERS: Kevin Feige & Johnathan Schwartz

WRITERS: Dave Callaham & Destin Daniel Cretton & Andrew Lanham

PERFORMERS: Simi Liu Awkwafina Meng'er Zhang Fala Chen Florean Muntaneau

Benedict Wong Ben Kingsley with Michelle Yeoh and Tony Leung



When I first heard of this, I really wasn't quite sure what to expect. On the other hand, the Asian community has quite been dominating the Hollywood scene lately and already; they are showing no signs of slowing down. This film, Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, is proof of that. How so? Because it's an Asian led film and perhaps the first of it's kind to dominate the superhero scene without breaking a sweat. What's even more so is that the characters in this film... don't have special powers or abilities like I've seen in past Marvel movies. Talk about a step outside of their own comfort zone!


Shang-Chi is the story of power, family and even redemption. What's so interesting about the story is that it goes from a man's rise to power, wanting to redeem himself of his past and his family's struggle to keep him from resuming his former dark self. But the true hero is the title character himself: Shang-Chi (played wonderfully by Simi Liu). From the origin aspect to the present day setting, you see this guy transition from childhood to adulthood all at once and even in between as the film goes on. This was perhaps my first time seeing someone like Liu leading a film like this and he does it with such superb acting and choreography. But the one performer who had my attention the most was Awkwafina who portrays his best friend and companion. She, out of everyone, goes through the most change as her character goes from reckless and curious to courageous and dependable. I've always said 'without chemistry, there is no belief in the characters you see on screen when together.' This is true because both Liu and Awkwafina had it... even when things got serious. Since Raya and the Last Dragon Awkwafina has really proven what she can bring to the table in a Disney film, in this one she goes really all the way; if I were in Shang Chi's position, I would want her beside me while saving the world from an ancient evil.


The only complaint about the film I have is the pacing of it, the fighting scenes were top notch, the action was eye-popping (as all the Marvel films are), but I wasn't feeling the emotion I feel should have been there to support the story itself, except for the most essential moments. Like when Chi is training at young age, or when he and his father go at it head to head. Even the effects were a bit cheesy which kind of made the film look and seem that way. The rooftop scene was when I was literally on the edge of my seat, but the climax got me breathless! So those were the only times I found worth watching, but I found myself trying to like the film rather than being so immersed into it that nothing else mattered. All I saw was a story about Light and Darkness, and unlike the conflict between father and son in Star Wars: Return of the Jedi, in this one you actually think it's Darth Vader training his son Luke to his bidding, instead of being trained to save the galaxy from his own father's twisted wrath. So it's not that I didn't like it, I just found it to be cheesy and unpredictable at times.


To wrap it up, Shang Chi was a film unlike past films of the superhero genre, especially in the MCU, it was a film about people, about culture, and about family as well as what happens when great power comes between a family. This also goes to show what Light and Darkness really look like, you're either in the light of God, or in the darkness of Satan (ISAIAH 59:1-2). Despite the flaws of the film, nevertheless a good and enjoyable one for what it is. The thing about films like this is that it's not supposed to be perfect, just something for everyone to enjoy regardless of ethnicity, culture or even background. I've always seen that in nearly every film I view and from a critical standpoint; it is what it is. I'm pretty sure that if Stan Lee were still here to see this, he would be proud and I certainly would have enjoyed a cameo from him in this one! Once again the MCU has outdone themselves and I can only hope what's to come in the next entry in the present Phase 4 initiative (as I like to call it). As a special note, the post credits scene gave me a clue as to who the next major villain will be in the future entries. Average effort... but well done to this one. Now let's see what a sequel (if approved) can bring to the table and what Shang Chi's next adventure will be.


RATING: 3.5 out of 5

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page