top of page
  • Writer's picturemovieman

REVIEW: Wrath of Man (2021)

DIRECTOR: Guy Ritchie

PRODUCERS: Bill Block & Ivan Atkinson & Guy Ritchie

WRITERS: Guy Ritchie & Ivan Atkinson & Marn Davies (screenplay by) & Nicolas Boukreif & Eric Besnard (written by)

PERFORMERS: Jason Statham Holt McCallany Rocci Williams Josh Hartnett Scott Eastwood

Jeffrey Donovan Laz Alonso Raul Castillo

I first saw Jason Statham in the 2003 remake of 'The Italian Job', which I thought was a good movie, then came the last few 'Fast and Furious' movies and since then he's been the biggest action star so far. When this one came around I almost didn't know what to expect of it, until I saw it firsthand just weeks ago. This film turned out to be so much more than just your average action flick, it was an edgy actioner unlike any I ever saw: it had several twists and turns!


'Wrath of Man' is about a security guard played by Statham who barely gets a job working for a federal reserve bank. What no one seems to know is that he's a skilled marksman with a hidden agenda. Now when I first heard of this, I thought I was in for a shoot 'em up fest that I saw in past films from the 80's and 90's. Unfortunately this turned out to be more than that, but rather a spy 'em out and execute 'em type of film. What intrigued me was that it was told in three different aspects, each having to do with Statham's motives and the story's intertwining with them. First, you see him entering his new job and the people he's assigned with. Second, you see his past life beforehand while switching to the present. Then Thirdly, you see it all culminate in a way never before seen. These sequences are played so well that you can't even tell what's going on or what's happening.


Truth be told, this wasn't like any action films of the past though they did have some of their elements to it. At one point, I found myself thinking 'this must be a blend between this or that film'. I went in thinking it was a revenge flick where the main character loses someone of great importance to that person and goes on a vengeance driven campaign to bring down those responsible like 'Man on Fire (2004)' or 'Raw Deal (1986)'. As it happens, this was a large step away from those formulas. Like the way Jesus did radical things for God and in turn leading others to do the same, this takes a radical direction never before seen: it questions what side the main character is really on. I found myself asking this question even during the middle of the film. At one point he's doing something different and I'm thinking 'wait a minute, what's happening here right now?' Suddenly it isn't about payback for a loved one's loss, it's about playing both sides from the inside while being mysterious. This was a serious mystery to examine because you didn't know if he was working for anybody, who's side he was really on or what direction he was going in... until the end. Like 'Total Recall (1990)' this film kept me guessing till the end and even by the time all was said and done, I was left wondering 'what happens now?' Mainly because of what I saw and what I got in the end.


To conclude, Wrath of Man wasn't just any film, it was a two way film with several questions, sine unanswered and some already explained. Without giving away too much details, the end result was a rather satisfying one. The mystery behind the characters were intriguing, there was so much parallel editing that you could almost tell one sequence from the other. I'm not a Jason Statham fan but he does have the qualities of a good action hero in today's generation of moviegoing. If I had a good reason for seeing this film, it would be because of him and he truly delivers! This is a raw look into the dark side of a hero who uses calculation, pure motivation and total conviction to carry out his tasks until the very end, leaving you to wonder what's next for this guy? Considering this is a remake it's hard to say because most remakes don't get sequels unless there good enough to produce them. This may be the next big remake franchise since the 'Ocean's' series. I don't know if they're ever will be one, but if so, Statham as the central character is a must-have! If you're into mystery films or heist films, this too... is a must. A must-see and highly recommended for any Jason Statham fans out there or just looking for a good action film for pure entertainment.


RATING: 5 out of 5



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page