top of page
  • Writer's picturemovieman

REVIEW: The Lion King (2019)

Updated: Sep 5, 2019

DIRECTOR: Jon Favreau

PRODUCERS: Jon Favreau & Jeffery Silver & Karen Gilhurst

WRITER: Jeff Nathanson

ACTORS: Donald Glover Seth Rogen Chiwetel Ejofor Alfre Woodard Billy Echiner

with Beyonce Knowles-Carter and James Earl Jones


Going to see the King... AGAIN!

I remember hearing about this film a few years ago, I was a bit nervous about it. And at the same time, hopeful if greenlit it would be done the right way as all remakes should be, especially when it comes to classics like this one. I grew up on the original animated classic so of course you would think 'Are you guys crazy?!', but given Disney's track record of live-action adaptations of their past animated films before and (even) after my time I thought "seems interesting but We'll see what happens". As such, here it is and here we still are, going back to the africa savanna to the ageless story of one of the most beloved masterpieces of all time. This is what happens when you teach old dogs (or in this case, old characters) new tricks.


Director Jon Favreau gave us a mind blowing in 2016 with "The Jungle Book" and that film was a true runner up for this one. Someone thought of a live-action reboot of "The Lion King" and what interested me was 'what if this story could be told in live action and what would it look like?'. We all know the animal kingdom to be a very fragile and sacred place, one that we as humans rarely get to experience these days. I was 10 years old when the animated original was released in June 1994 and it was by far one of THE most majestic films I had ever seen! The film was rich with animation, engaging with the storyline and captivating by the voice over performers. In this film that's just as star-studded as the first, it had what it needed: a good story, good effects and a new take on a classic story inspired by a play written by William Shakespeare and the Old testament of the holy bible, notably Moses and God as well as Jesus and his rise to becoming the most important person ever.


Let's talk about the voice over performances: From Donald Glover as Simba to the other members in their respective roles. The only part that made the film for me personally was James Earl Jones returning to the part as the wise and caring King Mufasa, it didn't even matter how short his time was in the film, his voice I think we all have to admit, felt like being transported back to 1994 when some of us were kids. I wasn't to crazy about the other actors but as Scar... Chiwetel Ejofor wasn't that bad either. In fact, his portrayal as the jealous and twisted villian for a brother was actually quite impressive. And being an older brother myself made me think of the relationship between Mufasa and Scar. There was a time when my brother and I couldn't stand each other, but unlike the two lions as time went on we got older and more used to each other. I certainly wouldn't murder and betray him the way Scar did when he killed Mufasa (NOTE: That scene killed me so much I cried inside my heart, including young Simba mourning him before Scar tricks him into believing he was responsible). They say she can't act, but I strongly disagree. Beyonce is very convincing as Nala, Simba's childhood best friend and future mate. From 'Dreamgirls' to 'Cadillac Records' her performances left so much of an impression on me that I didn't even care what others thought. She commanded this part as if she were commanding every scene you heard her in... especially towards the climax. In the original you barley saw her but in this one you see all of her. Even the song "Spirit" was very uplifting when heard in one scene I won't mention for the sake of personal loyalty to no spoilers because it's just that good. As Sarabi, mother of Simba and Mufasa's mate, Alfre Woodard shows no hesitation and no fear when push comes to shove. Giving her role an even bigger part in this reimagining tale is just majestic because every character in a disney film, including a parent is an important part whether main or supporting. Timon and Pumbaa's Seth Rogen and Billy Eichner were great as well but honestly, Nathan Lane and Ernie Sabella from the original just did them better. Glover's portrayal as a grown up Simba had me on the edge of my seat, he could be serious and conflicted at the same time. For instance if anyone remembers when Rafiki (John Kani) finds him in the forest and asks him who he is... his response is 'I don't know who I am'. Then Suddenly he looks in the lake and at first only sees himself, but is told to look deeper and sees an image of his father Mufasa (Jones). The next thing we know, There he is in the form of a heavenly spirit in the clouds from above, instructing his son to adhere to his calling (EXODUS 3:1-19). One thing about this scene that got me was Mufasa's saying that he'll always be with him no matter what because it was a take back to another scripture reference that God will never leave nor forsake us and therefore nothing to fear (DEUTERONOMY 31:6).


There are 3 things 'The Lion King' teaches us:

1) Stand your ground 2) Know and understand your calling 3) You ARE somebody

This film completely touches on these things and they don't fail to please. I remember a lesson being taught by my church leader one sunday and this film was a major reference. One of the things he said was 'everybody is somebody, even if they're nobody'. We all go around thinking 'who am I?' or 'what is my purpose?' And sometimes the answer is not where we expect, then we take a deeper look into ourselves and then BOOM! THERE IT IS (JAMES 1:22-25). I recall being so impacted by this lesson that it made me rewatch the original animated film that same day and being impacted as I was when I was 10 but seeing a more spiritual side to it. When I look at myself in the mirror every morning, I think 'I love nothing more than this... or that...' whether it's writing reviews like this or whatever else I like doing, then it's what I was born for. And that's what I got out of that sermon. Do what you were called to do and do it with all your heart!!! That I think is the center of the whole movie.


To conclude, this remake was a pleasurable one, but a rare treat for nostalgiac reasons. Sure they're both incomparable but are both majestic films in their own ways. It had almost everything: more development, additional dialouge, extended sequences and uplifting music. My only dislike for the film was it's lacking of emotion, but it's live-action so of course it's not going to have 100% of the original's qualities, but in the end it's a movie you either like it or not. As risky as the past remakes were, including this year's "Dumbo" and "Aladdin" this one proved to be the most riskiest because of the cartoon's cultural significance on our lives as well as what it meant to us all. All parties for me personally were a rather reasonable effort for such an attempt. If I were to grade this from an A to an F, my final solution would be llike this... 80% for performances 70% for additional material 50% for originality and for effort... a necessary 60% totaling out to 260% out of a 500% score. So my overall grade would have been a C+ because although it wasn't as perfect, it wasn't that bad either. Although it was good, I have to say the original is far superior, but all in all an enjoyable film to watch if you're looking for a live-action aspect of this subject. Do I recommend it? That as said i 'The Matrix (1999)' will be a choice I shall leave to you. For my next review: coming soon... and very much soon.


11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page